‪I remember going to a Christian college. I remember, whilst there, dating a girl who wasn’t the same race as I am.‬
This isn’t an uncommon occurrence in America nowadays, everyone.

It wasn’t until then did I see the veil of acceptable racism that so many Americans are legitimately stuck behind.

“I’m not racist, but my daughter is NOT bringing a black guy home with her.”

Going to a Christian college meant that they had (out of context) scriptures to back up their claims: Genesis 28:1, Leviticus 19:19, Deuteronomy 7:2, Jeremiah 13:23, etc.

The problem with the context they ignore in the scriptures is that the issue wasn’t the different people’s skin color; it was their gods.

Think about it: Remember when Moses went up the mountain for like 5 minutes (exaggerating) and came back and everybody had gold calfs out worshipping them mugs like God didn’t JUST OPEN UP THE RED SEA AND SMITE THEIR ENEMIES. 

God was using the law to keep His people from making this same stupid mistake. They, of course, made it again, but that’s what those laws were put in place for. 

Cool thing now is that because Jesus died on the cross, ALL can come to Him and find a place in the family of God.

All. 

The Jews. The Gentiles. The orphans. The widows. The refugees. The sinners. The saints.

All.

So, then.

Yes, folks. I can date your daughter. She should be able to bring me home. Why? Well, because we serve a God who died for you, her, and myself so that we could ALL live life more abundantly. How is that so difficult to understand? 

It’s 2017 and I’m sick and tired of being silently looked down upon/shunned over something that shouldn’t even matter.